Plato’s Children

Karl_Ernst_Papf_-_Children_-_Google_Art_Project

“There can be no keener revelation of a society’s soul than the way in which it treats its children.” Nelson Mandela

Just a curiosity. How are we doing with our kids. Both parents working, T.V., movies, social media, popular culture, fast pace lives, time together, quality of interaction? ….I don’t know….. I’m not a society, im just me.

What drives us as a society? Certainly it has something to with us as individuals at least in part right? What are we if not, in part, products of our childhood, and what does that say about our children?

“Human behavior flows from three main sources: desire, emotion, and knowledge.” Plato

What compels me the most? I am human so it would be unwise from me to deny any in entirety. The idea is to have quality of each in which each edifies the others.

“There are three classes of men; lovers of wisdom, lovers of honor, and lovers of gain.” Plato

A lover of gain may or may not have any thing at all. And what he does gain he despises. A lover of Honor will seek it for him self and gain nothing or he may seek it for a higher purpose but with out wisdom his efforts are often foolish. A lover of wisdom, if he pursues whole heartedly, regardless of his ability or talent will gain only things beneficial to life. By his very nature, honor will dwell within.

“Let parents bequeath to their children not riches, but the spirit of reverence.” Plato

With the respect of those things greater than ourselves, we come to admire them. With admiration comes love and the imitation of those greater things. What do I love? What do I want my child to love?

“Education is teaching our children to desire the right things.” Plato

What are the ways that I educate my child? By voice or by action? Both im sure, but also the environment, atmosphere and the things I show him most in my own life.

“Never discourage anyone… who continually makes progress, no matter how slow.” Plato

I tell my son to do better today then he did yesterday, and do better tomorrow then he did today. This isn’t an excuse for laziness but a creation of habit. If he strives thoughtfully and with dedication he has earned my praise. I ask no more of my self.

“Do not train a child to learn by force or harshness; but direct them to it by what amuses their minds, so that you may be better able to discover with accuracy the peculiar bent of the genius of each.” Plato

“Play is the highest form of research.” Einstein

Creativity and imagination are the inspirations of life’s endeavours. This does not mean that structured education is not needed. It only implies the kind of structure we provide. How and what we expose them is the spark that ignites the fuel they already have within to burn passionately for some purpose.

“Be not angry that you cannot make others as you wish them to be, since you cannot make yourself as you wish to be.” Thomas Kempis

A great danger it is, for a parent to lose control. discipline is a way of life for both teacher and student. It is a principle not an emotion. We instruct for the benefit of that which we love.

“He that spareth his rod hateth his son: but he that loveth him chasteneth him betimes.” Solomon- Proverbs 13 (betimes-old meaning, swiftly or now)

For a parent, with years and experience in the world beyond that of his child, is he not a model of the world for that child? It is a matter of consistently and reasonable expectations. What does the lie teach, to set a rule and not follow through with it? Be honest and your child will know what is right while loving your council for it.

“Ye fathers, provoke not your children to wrath: but bring them up in the nurture and admonition of the Lord.” Paul- Ephesians 6

Some say spare the rod and spoil the child as above, but often fail to accompany Paul’s thought on the matter. They that let their children rule will see them ruined but to crush a child’s spirit or turn him to anger is the death of both.

There is a difference between principle and severity and between compassion and neglect. If we nurture in our selves what is good, then we cannot help but to nurture what we love with what we love.

Die Naturkunde-Stunde

Die Naturkunde-Stunde

About TheEpistemologist

If I don't know it I want to. If I haven't been there I want to go there. If I haven't tasted it I want to taste it. Life, An adventurous journey I wil take to the end.
This entry was posted in Philosophy and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

