A Connection to Art

My favorite definition of art is the expression of the human experience. Regardless of the kind of art it is or what the expression is meant to convey it all speaks to men and their inner being. The good the bad, the ugly, whether it’s despised or loved it moves us in some way.

The mind of a creator and the mind of the recipient are two very different things. When I see something that speaks to me I see it only through my eyes. The study of communication is an odd thing. One word, one gesture, just the smallest thing, with out common reference can be interpreted so many ways.

Even with a common reference we can still only see what we have experienced in our own way despite efforts of objectivity. Its one of the most wonderful things about art and life in general, that through our collective experience, despite culture, distance and paradigm some things are universal. We are not alone in our humanity.

I am by no means a critique and is not is it my intention to be. These are only the thoughts and feelings that come to life in me that I hoped to share for your enjoyment. 🙂

The Creation of Adam

The Creation of Adam

I have no idea what Michelangelo was thinking and The Creation of Adam has had much speculation. The first thing I see is Adam, his lazy and nonchalant posture. Then there is God, stretched out and reaching. I consider how at times I may look in Gods direction but make little effort to touch him. Despite his efforts I am simply unmotivated. Perhaps at our creation there was element of mutuality or synergies in our relationship? I don’t notice the other figures very much other than the woman looking at Adam. I see her and my mind wonders, empty with no clear feeling or purpose. Maybe a hint of curiosity? Or distraction from the main event?

Ophelia There is a willow grows askant the brook…There on the pendant boughs her coronet weeds Clamb’ring to hang, an envious sliver broke...incapable of her own distress...

Ophelia
There is a willow grows askant the brook…There on the pendant boughs her coronet weeds Clamb’ring to hang, an envious sliver broke…incapable of her own distress…

Here are two innocent souls, in need of protection and care but one more so than the other. Ophelia her innocence quite appealing but in the end I just feel sorry for her while Miranda’s beauty shines completely worthy of admiration. In Ophelia’s painting I immediately notice her face as being expressionless despite falling into the water.

Miranda in the Tempest  O, wonder!  How many goodly creatures are there here!  How beauteous mankind is! O brave new world,  That has such people in't!

Miranda in the Tempest
O, wonder!
How many goodly creatures are there here!
How beauteous mankind is! O brave new world,
That has such people in’t!

She may or may not have committed suicide but by this illustration it is clear she did nothing to help herself. A truly pitiful and sorrowful sight. A reminder for me to be kind to everyone. We so often fail to see the inner workings of ones depression only seeing their behavior in judgement. Miranda now inspires me with her curiosity, wonder, virtue, compassion and while peaceful still does as her pure heart moves her. She is not defeated by naivety or submission. In this painting I see the wind behind her, an invisible force that drives her to the wreck. She is so spirited with all the great qualities of a beautiful woman she couldn’t resist even if she wanted to.

Medusa

Medusa

Ha!! Now Medusa on the other hand I immediately recoil with horror. Without knowing anything about her there’s the judgment she’s a hideous and vile monster. Shes driven fear into the hearts of men since her conception. Alexander the Great,reportedly, had an image of her on his shield. I wrongly made the assumption that it was to scare his enemies but upon further investigation I discovered it may have been a ward. In Ovid’s account of her she was an innocent like the two above. So now we have three women, each of innocent origins, each too no or limited fault of their own cast by fate into their plight. Each deserving of love and kindness. Medusa sadly in this depiction, her face is twisted and distorted beyond her former self. A reminder of caution. Yes, compassion is good but some will not have It. I will love freely as I am able but cautious of the harshness of the real world.

Tristan and Isolde The Song is Over

Tristan and Isolde
The Song is Over

Ha Ha ha ha ahha hah snort… I die laughing. The song is over baby, I did my part and romanced you with my ballad…. so… ummm…. how did you like it? lol. Makes me think of the Nat Geo channel and the goofy mating rituals some critters have. But were not without our rituals either are we? I don’t know their story and only found this pic the other day so my interpretation of it is purely instinctive. She is the first thing I see as the lighting I presume intends. When stepping back it becomes clear he’s been romancing her and is ready to make a move. She seems a little uncomfortable or nervous pulling her knee up with her hands. Her facial expression is dull or blank and her head tilted toward him as if she’s not quite sure how to respond. Now there’s Dad probably in the background. Maybe he’s occasioned by their going on’s or perhaps he’s been watching. Either way he does seem interested in the affair but not quite ready to act. His hand on his beard and intent look on his face he wants to know whats going to happen.

If you liked this maby you will like an earlier post where I described my objectum sexuality with La Scapigliata (ha! kidding, its just a metaphor… well maby I just shouldn’t think about it to much. 🙂

How do you feel about these paintings or stories? Do any of them mean anything to you?

About TheEpistemologist

If I don't know it I want to. If I haven't been there I want to go there. If I haven't tasted it I want to taste it. Life, An adventurous journey I wil take to the end.
This entry was posted in Art and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

