My Journey Through Christianity-Nothing, Something and Everything (part 4)

An informal apology     part 1, part 2, part 3

This is where the two begin to merge now. Science and religion, the empirical and the rational, fact and faith, belief and probability.

Quickly before we move on lets look at one more thing about truth by looking at facts and how they are perceived. I went on about how perception can be flawed but forgot to mention that we still seem to have the ability to be objective to some degree. Truth should not only be non paradoxical and always true, but the source should also be true.

Something we are all familiar with. We call something a fact when everyone agrees it is so wither or not it actually is. I go on about this in a different post but what I want to point out is the source. A survey company can collect facts on a subject and present the facts in a way that paints a clear picture of how things are. A different company can, using the same facts, paint a different picture. Commonly however the two sources use different sets of facts or include but exclude others and vice versa.

See not only does a fact have to be true but its source has to be also. This is the difference between positive and interpretive ontology. Iv laid out why it may be difficult to determine that something is, but we also need to consider how information is put together, is it bias  or objective? If it is objective then was all the pertinent info gathered and gathered correctly?

Another example from a different angle. Just like with the pencil there is perceptual and the actual. A comedian tells a joke and everyone laughs. I tell the same joke, using the same words, but no one laughs. The words are the same but the source is different. So this is how two different people can make the same statement but only one is telling the truth. There are other examples and angles to look at this but I think this is sufficient.

Which God or which ones?

So up to this point iv mainly looked at the sciences and mans ability to reason but the attempt seemed futile after much exploration. Robert Jastrow summed it up pretty good with “For the scientist who has lived by his faith in the power of reason. the story ends like a bad dream. He has scaled the mountains of ignorance, he is about to conquer the highest peak, as he pulls himself over the final rock, he is greeted by a band of theologians who have been sitting there for centuries.” Or the bit where scientists backed themselves into a corner is good also.

It seems that no one can agree on what is reality, truth, how, what, why of any thing, and ultimately are forced to face the possibility that something made all this happen. Even Atheists at some point have to ask themselves the question. Many Atheistic scientists do convert to some form of Agnosticism or adopt some religious views while only the most stern believers in humanities ability to understand things remain loyal to Atheism.

So now what God or which ones and does it matter? I started with what I knew the best which was Christianity but acknowledged from what I learned from culture and social paradigms that the odds of this one being the right one in comparison to all others was slim. This was a prejudgment that I probably wouldn’t find truth here either and that maybe like the sciences would just find partial truths, conflicts and paradoxes.

So I begin reading the KJV bible and had an incredibly hard time following it. So I leave the thee’s and thou’s and tried a contemporary version but to no avail. I simply didn’t understand it so I moved on and explored some other religions. At the initial assessment of my inquiry I wasn’t able to get as well versed in comparative religions as I am now (which is still pretty limited) but I was able to understand at least the basic themes to various theisms.

I took the approach of being a jury. Collecting the arguments and to the best of my ability objectively considering each without forming opinions of my own. This seemed like the most logical approach at the time when you consider the different kinds of approaches to the various kinds of sciences and histories.

If you have read this far thank you. Ill be getting there soon.

🙂 As always I love comments  🙂

About TheEpistemologist

If I don't know it I want to. If I haven't been there I want to go there. If I haven't tasted it I want to taste it. Life, An adventurous journey I wil take to the end.
This entry was posted in Christianity, Philosophy and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to My Journey Through Christianity-Nothing, Something and Everything (part 4)

  1. Pingback: My Journey Through Christianity-Nothing, Something and Everything (part 5) | TheEpistemologist

  2. Pingback: My Journey Through Christianity-Nothing, Something and Everything (part 6) | TheEpistemologist

  3. Pingback: My Journey Through Christianity-Nothing, Something and Everything (conclusion) | TheEpistemologist

  4. Pingback: My Journey Through Christianity-Nothing, Something and Everything (conclusion) | TheEpistemologist

Leave a Reply

